In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (example literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (example physics). Why do you think is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It is becoming a new trend in several societies, especially in schools, that male students prefer science subjects and female students prefer art subjects. There are causes of this issue and solutions that should be considered to tackle this problem, which I will elaborate on below. Perhaps the major reason why this happens is that gender stereotypes and societal expectations often shape individual choices, suggesting that art is more feminine and science is more masculine. This stems from our ancestors, who believed that men were more reliable and women were assigned lighter tasks. To illustrate, famous scientists are mostly men and rarely even women. This reason has led to the establishment of a major in society, especially for students. Moving to solutions, In the modern era, this tendency should be changed with thinking that is not based on our ancestors, so that everyone has the right to choose what subjects he wants, no matter whether he is male or female. In addition, gender equality should be implemented so that there is no big gap in society. This means that the work in the future will be more impartial, so that no one judges that the capacity of men is above that of women. This will open up opportunities for women in jobs. In conclusion, the situation of imbalance formed by the concept of gender has existed for a long time since our ancestors, but as times change, this situation and mindset in society must be changed so that there is no discrimination in the environment.