Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, has made it possible for many people to work from their home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

It is an indisputable fact that the presence of modern technological devices and the internet, have made room for numerous people to indulge in work activities from the comfort of their homes. Inasmuch as this advancement has varied benefits, it also, has its downsides. There are a great number of merits associated with this invention. First of all, transportation cost is nothing to worry about any more. Before the introduction of computers and the internet, people had to board vehicles to and from their workplaces. Actually, this was very inconvenient, and at a point when one did not have enough money, absenteeism was the only option. Secondly, it has increased the level of productivity since people can operate at a faster speed on their computers. For instance, data can be quickly arranged in the right order in Microsoft Excel within the shortest possible time, than doing this manually at the office. In addition, working from home always keeps one in touch with the family. The majority of the people, especially, nursing mothers, can take care of their babies while discharging their office duties on a laptop. On the other hand, it is not always the case that serving one's office responsibilities at home, using a personal computer, would be helpful. There are numerous drawbacks associated with it. To commence, exchange of ideas among a manager and the followers are obscured. Putting it differently, an employer finds it extremely difficult to share ideas with employees. Similarly, the opinions of the workers, remain in their heads and cannot easily pour them out for them to be debated upon. Again, supervision becomes less effective. For example, it becomes very difficult to monitor the progress and perhaps, the efficiency and effectiveness of the job being done. Most people make many mistakes, because they do not get the right directions from experts in their respective working environments. In conclusion, technology has really made it so easy for people to work from their abodes, but this has both advantages and demerits.