Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is to address it at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Generally, it is argued that environmental problems are massive and difficult for countries and people to handle individually and requires collective global intervention to tackle it. This essay disagrees with the argument completely as environmental problems can be approached from the grassroots. The essay will first look at how public awareness of environmental protection and intentional government intervention through environmental laws, sanctions and penalties can reduce degradation in the eco-system thereby, improving the lives of the people. Firstly, public awareness of environmental protection through media campaigns and inclusion in school curriculum, can educate the populace about the dangers of polluting the environment. Many citizens are not aware of the impact of their individual actions on the environment. For instance, the recent social media wave on global warming in America and most of Europe has had a behavioural impact on many people and have changed the way a lot of them go about their daily activities, putting environmental protection in the forefront. Additionally, the government in each country, can be more intentional about preserving the environment by creating localised environmental laws. These laws should include sanctions and penalties for erring individuals, thereby discouraging hostile behaviours. For example, environmental law that banned gas flaring in Nigeria, has resulted in gas companies' multi-million dollar investment in gas processing thereby reducing gas pollution. In conclusion, dissemination of important information about environmental protection to the public and the conscious effort of government agencies to establish functional laws will go a long way in solving many environmental issues we have today. Like the popular saying charity begins at home. If each country tackle this issue locally, the aggregated result will be unprecedented.