Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The process of improving socioeconomic and living standards of people is measured in terms of progress of a country. In my opinion, there are many factors which contributed to the overall development of any country including economic progress. (38) We had seen in the past that economic development always remained a major concern for governments in many countries. In fact, the progress of a country was actually measured in terms of its economic growth. (35) Presently, it is doubtless to say that uplifting economy is an important task for every government. Nowadays, it is compulsory for any country to improve its economic standards in order to compete with the international community in the field of science, technology and business. For example, in all the industrial regions of the world, the economy is considered the backbone of every government as the whole progress of a country is reflected by its better economic conditions. On the other hand, the development in health, education, employment opportunities and social conditions is treated exactly the same way economic progress in all the developed countries. (103) The huge advancement in science and technology has forced the governments to focus on all the sectors individually that are essential for the overall progress of any country. Thus, if the governments keep on improving all the sectors, then every country will become a progressed country in the near future. (50) Finally, in my opinion, the progress of a country is not the improvements made in a particular field like economy, rather it is a team work of all the fields that joins hands in the overall development of a country. (40)