Question Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

It is thought by some, that brilliance is hereditary while for others, environmental influences play major role in determining intelligence. In my opinion, environmental factors contribute most to ones IQ. The rationale for these views will be discussed in the essay. On the one hand, to some people, there is no doubt a genetic undertone for intelligence. This is based on the observation that brilliant parents beget smart children. In addition to this, anectodal speculations have it that a certain gene is responsible for the inheritance of this trait. Although there is no scientific basis for this, it has apparently been a time honoured observation and believe. For instance, a certain kindred in my town, recorded academic excellence in their entire generation. Whether this is a result of values and virtues transferred down the lineage through physical and intellectual interactions or by heredity remains unclear. Conversely, the other school of thought which I belong to, strongly believe that the sole factor responsible for brightness is the environment. Not only that this has equally been noted over time, but also, it has strong scientific backing. Children who are exposed early to certain games, Mozart music, puzzles, and who interact with smart adults develop very high IQ. An example is a study that exposed quadruplet to different background and activities. The ones in mentally stimulating surroundings excelled intellectually, far more than the other ones. This is largely convincing that intelligence is by nurture more than by nature. To conclude, despite the two opposing views, I am of the opinion that one's background and exposure contributes more significantly to brilliance. The rationale for these views has been discussed in this essay.