Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited. To what extent do you agree?

Genetic engineering is one of the great achievements of medical science, at present and is only growing to be better. While, some argue it is a risky endeavour and should be limited. I totally agree and think that certain boundaries ought to be drawn in order to maintain balance in the human race. Undoubtedly, there are many benefits of studying genes. One great advantage is; it can prevent certain disorders and deformities, which are the result of genetic alterations such as Trisomy 21, mental retardation and so on. Another positive aspect of this trend is; it is helping doctors to diagnose various disorders in its infancy stage. For example, genetic counselling is helping hundreds of parents to make informed decisions regarding their babies inside the womb, who might be having abnormalities. Clearly, genetic engineering in on its way to improve quality of life. Despite the advantages, there are some drawbacks that entail the limitation on the work of genetic engineers. Firstly, people will start challenging the natural process such as childbirth and or ageing. To elaborate, when the people can make a selection of the best quality sperms and egg, they will start going for in-vitro fertilization, rather than conventional methods of conception. Eventually, there would not be any need for the partners and the long established organization of marriage will be lost. One survey report published in 'The Medical journal', stated the dangers of genetic engineering may include a complete transformation of human race into avengers. Another threat to natural process can be a longer life of mankind by the mutation of genes, that causes ageing. For instance, if the genes responsible for dying out of cells could be mutated, people will stop growing old. As a result, there will be chaos and disharmony, since birth of new ones continues. Therefore, a limit should be established to prevent an imbalance in nature. In conclusion, although I appreciate the achievements of genetic engineering; I strongly agree that there should be restrictions to any further gene related experiments.