Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals believe a great tactic of manipulating customers into buying products is advertisement. others believe that mass advertisement is everywhere, which results in people ignoring it. While the former opinion was successful in the past, nowadays advertising does not have the same result. Commercial planning was one of the most revolutionary methods in product selling in recent times. By allowing business owners to bring creativity and strategy into leading customers toward their product, which was a major success. For instance, Marlboro, a cigarette and tobacco distributing company paid Hollywood to use their smoking brand in their movies, especially if the main character smoked. Consequently, viewers who saw these movies were influenced by their favourite protagonist. Resulting in an increase in sales in Marlboro brand. However, this tactic is not as effective anymore as it used to be. With the rise of social media, commercials found the opportunity to enlarge their platform. Social media advertisement is much cheaper than Hollywood. Therefore, many product sellers paid in order to get their ad on the platform. For this reason, the consumer was much more exposed to all kinds of ads. So people did not care about them at all after some time. For example, Instagram, a social media app, contains a lot of advertisement which are skippable, ، This constant exposure numbed many users, even calling these ads annoying. This clearly had a negative effect. To conclude, advertising is an old-fashioned type of system which does not have the same influence as it once had in the past, with people ignoring it due to being excessively exposed to it.