In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Health is integral to every individual and the general public and reports have shown that there is a surge in the number of people struggling with their well-being due to the consumption of junk. As a result of this, I completely agree that the legislature needs to intervene by controlling unhealthy eating habits. I will support my view with strong arguments and examples. Fast foods are attractive to the public due to its ready-to-eat nature and affordability. However, many of the ingredients used in preparing them are harmful to the body in large intake. For example, obesity, which is on the rise in the United States of America is as a result of eating fatty foods and fizzy drinks in enormous quantity. Obese people struggle with daily activities and recurring health problems which reduces their life expectancy. If people opt for healthier meals, they will be more fitter. In order to solve this problem, government agencies need to increase tax levies on food products classified as unhealthy and also ingredients that are used in making them. For instance, a sugar tax bill was proposed in the United Kingdom on food and drinks for children so that they can opt for healthier options like fruits and vegetables. In addition, public awareness campaign should be done to sensitize the public about the dangers of consuming junk. This has affected the mindset of people as they become increasingly aware of the problems unhealthy eating habits bring. In conclusion, government intervention is crucial in reducing the amount of fast food being eaten by people. Since the well-being of the nation is important, steps should be taken to address this issue. Tax bills and awareness campaigns are ways to begin.