Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The more developed the world is, the more various opportunities are offered to people in the job market. Therefore, working for organisations may not seem intriguing for many now. While many factors lie behind this change, this can bring drawbacks with itself along the way. Being the first reason, flexibility is a key factor why many people opt for self-employment. For example, 9 to 5 jobs will make you stick to one office during a huge part of the day while in your own business, you are the boss of your schedule. It will give you the opportunity to have a schedule that fits with your needs. Decent salary can be a triggering cause for many people's choices as well. While a company may offer a competitive salary, you can earn more on your own. For example, while tutoring Spanish in a language institution, you only earn some percentage of money paid by students. On the other hand, you will earn the whole amount if you are a freelancer. However, there may be some setbacks of this working style. Firstly, being a freelancer does not bring you a stable atmosphere. Unless you set up a business, you will not have colleagues. This may leave you lonely sometimes. Moreover, as your working schedule is flexible, your deadlines may vary. You may be required to finish a given task in 2 days or in 2 hours, which can cause a great deal of stress. In a nutshell, being self-employed can be exciting and offer more chances for flexibility and better income. However, it might also bring some drawbacks with it, which one should not forget. Therefore, it would be better for individuals to weigh both pros and cons of this opportunity, and decide according to that.