Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has evolved in a manner that makes possible to communicate easily and instantly with new people, old friends and even unknown relatives overseas. In this essay, I will explain firstly why this evolution has modified the types of relationships people make these days and secondly, why I think these changes are advantageous to our society. In regards to technological improvements, social platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or dating apps have made meeting new people easier and faster. Consequently, many people are getting in touch with friends, lovers and even relatives who live abroad and they have never met before. Take for example, Facebook, it can connect an enormous amount of men, women and youth from all around the globe just by clicking one button. Another impressive change is that almost everything can be solved by phone, online or by messages, increasing significantly the time to be with those we care the most. While many believe that interacting through web sites or applications has made people loose face to face encounters, it has, conversely, made relationships possible in several aspects. On the one hand, finding the love of our life is one of the most difficult experience for many human beings and technological developments have greatly simplified this. In addition, relating to others is that simple nowadays that takes little time to stay in touch with a huge amount of acquaintances, therefore, there is plenty of time to get together with family or friends and enjoy those meetings without hurries. In conclusion, in spite some may feel being online can harm real life relationships, I am of the opinion that meeting new people is essential for a fulfilling life, therefore technological advances which have made this communication possible are immensely beneficial to improve the quality of human encounters.