Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

The internet is now not considered to be a luxury, but a necessity. Some say that governments should make access to the world wide web free of charge, while the others argue that everyone must pay to access. I strongly believe that access to the internet should be 100% free. Free access to the internet will be a financial burden to all of the citizens. In other words, we are all aware that running a business such as, an internet service provider is extremely costly. Therefore, providing internet to a whole nation for free would be a huge task and requires a great amount of funding. Even if an individual does not use this service, implementation and maintenance costs of high end tech such as servers and undersea cables must be paid eventually by the tax payer's. For instance, an elderly person who is in her 80s living from her pension would also be affected as the government will need to gather the funds to keep the service free. Therefore, it is in the best interest of all the citizens who use the internet to pay for this service. However, people who are in favour of non paid internet service argues that the country's young generation will have clear advantages should the service be free.