In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Due to rapid urbanization, better means of travelling have become a major concern. On one hand, some people argue that spending heavy budgets on building fast railway infrastructures between cities is necessary; on the other hand, many people believe that the budget should be spent on improving the existing public transportation. This essay will discuss both views and provide my opinion. People, in some countries, favour fast and reliable railway transportation system. The facts behind this favouritism are that the trains carry more passengers and goods at the same time and reduce traffic congestion. Besides, trains are safer and faster trains can connect cities to build a better communication system. For instance, Japan and China have successfully constructed fast railway tracks around the country due to which their transportation system has become extremely strong and fast. Due to the above-mentioned facts, some people believe that a large amount of budget should be spent on a fast railway system between cities. However, many people think that budget money should be utilized to improve existing public transportation. Public transport systems play a crucial role in interconnecting the different parts of the cities. In addition, due to the increase in population, cities are constantly growing, and people tend to move further away from the city centre's, where the houses are big and affordable. A good public transportation system may help these people to commute easily within the city. For example, despite the fact that London is one of the busiest cities in the world, the underground railway system has made the commuting within the city more reliable and quick. Therefore, many people argue that the money should be spent on improving existing public transportation. To conclude, according to the needs, different people have different preferences around the world. While some people think that the government should be more focused on fast-moving trains between the cities, many people argue that the budget should be used to improve the existing transportation system. Moreover, in my opinion, the national budget should be fairly distributed for both railways and other means of transportation for the overall improvement of a country’s transportation system.