Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is common to see people getting news updates from the internet rather than the traditional method of reading newspapers. However, some people argue that the newspaper will remain the most important source of news. Moreover, in my opinion, the electronic sources of news will soon replace the newspapers. The newspaper has remained the most important source of news for several decades and some people believe that it will remain the most important source in the future as well. The people behind this believe are mostly from generation X (older people). There are several reasons behind this thought. Firstly, older people have traditionally bought the newspaper over the years and still prefer to read the newspaper. Secondly, older people are less familiar with the latest technology, which hinders their use of electronic sources. Thirdly, the newspaper also includes other entertainment material such as magazines and crosswords. Therefore, due to the above-mentioned reasons older people still prefer newspapers and argue that the newspaper will remain the major source of news in the future. However, the newspaper may not completely disappear, the internet is likely to become more dominant sources of news in the future. In today’s modern world, digitalisation has become a new sensation and poses a great threat to the traditional newspaper. Various media agencies have already started the process of digitalisation by reducing the number of publishing printed materials. For example, Life, a very famous American magazine company, started in 1972 completely shut down the printed magazines and went online in 2000. In conclusion, although the newspaper has remained the most important source of news in the past, and the older generation still prefers it to get news updates; electronic sources will gradually replace the newspaper. In addition to this, electronic sources are cheaper and more conveniently accessible.