Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foregin tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

Museums and historical places have always played a crucial role in understanding/def the culture and the traditions of a region. These places are predominantly visited by foreigners as compared to the locals. This essay examines the reason behind fewer local visitors and suggests strategies to increase the number of locals in these places. The crux of this matter is the different levels of interest in tourists and the locals. For a tourist, the aim of visiting a new place is to learn and understand the culture and the history of the place. Visiting museums and historical places are the best way to do so. On the contrary, the locals have already lived in the area for most of their lives, and have either learned about the culture at school or by personal experiences. However, tourists are on holiday and have already set-aside money to visit these places while locals already know much about the culture and history, and they have other preferences to spend the money. Therefore, due to the less local interest in learning the culture and history, these historical places and museums see fewer local visitors as compared to foreigners. The number of local visitors can be increased by implementing different strategies. Firstly, the perception towards museums and historical sites can be altered by organizing different events. For example, to raise the awareness, multi-cultural, traditional festivals, and galas can be organized for adults and children. Moreover, ticket prices can be reduced or different kinds of offers can be introduced on ticket prices. In conclusion, although the numbers of local visitors have reduced as compared to foreign tourists, these numbers can be increased by raising awareness in locals for visiting museums and historical places. Therefore, different strategies can be used such as organizing different traditional festivals and galas. In addition to it ticket fairs can be reduced to raise the local's interest in visiting these places.