Many people support use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it isn’t appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Approval of the medicines for human use is a tedious process and involves a series of tests, including tests on animals. Few people have a mindset that experiments on animal for new medicine are necessary and it makes drug safer. However, others are of an opposite opinion and they believe that testing medicines on animals is an unethical practice. I am in favour of the idea that medicine should be tested in all possible scenarios before being released to public. On the one hand, people who doesn’t like animal experiments, argue that animals have the same rights as human beings, they are also an outcome of the same revolution through which human come into existence. Infecting them with viruses or injecting bacteria or chemical in their body may cause extreme pain for them. Also, a failed experiment can cause severe damage and suffering for their whole life or even can cause death in the lab. In addition, lab animals are taken away from their real natural homes such as forest or zoo, which is again cruelty. It is understandable that, the pain or suffering lab animals pass from, some people think as immoral practice. On the other hand, It is completely necessary, an important and unavoidable process that all the medicines before making public, must pass all tests and check for a reaction. Such that it is safer for human beings to take those medicines and avoid any severe damage. Besides this, every day a large number of animals are mercilessly killed by humans for their mere flesh and skin, there is not a huge difference between killing animal for food or sacrificing their life for drug testing, because both actions are helping the human race for survival. To sum up, there are valid reasons why animal testing seems cruel, unethical and unacceptable to a few people and crucial to others. In my perspective, even though animals subjected to testing may suffer, it is a necessary step to ensure the healing power of a drug and saves human lives.