Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Why do think this is? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There are increasing numbers of youths migrating from remote areas to urban areas leading to the fact that only older people are living there. In my opinion, this is a natural phenomenon happening when young people look for a better job in the big cities than it is in small villages. Anyway, I think it causes negative impacts with overcrowded in cities and pressuring on its infrastructure, and fewer the workforces to develop agriculture in rural areas. A career development is always one of the most important factors for the young people. Many companies establish their businesses and facilities in big cities rather than in remote areas. Therefore, there will be greater opportunities for the youths to get job offers as well as a higher paid salary in cities. A vast movement from rural areas to the cities of the youth can lead to the fact that cities will suffer with an overwhelming amount of the habitants. Its public services may not develop fast enough to satisfy increasing numbers of people day by day. For example, public transportation could be overloaded during peak hours; hospitals or healthcare clinics are always full of patients. As such, the authorities always encourage companies to build their factories in the countryside in order to divert people coming to the cities. The wave of youth movement to metropolis also causes the phenomenon that there are only elders living in the rural areas, which leads to not enough workforces for agricultural development and farms’ abandonment. In conclusion, more young people are moving to cities from remote areas nowadays to look for a better job. This cause negative effects that cities will suffer more pressure on its public services as well as it may decrease the development for agriculture.