Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people say that to tackle traffic and contamination issues, the costs of petrol should be risen. In this essay I will explain why I completely agree with this and what strategies could be applied additionally. An effective measure to reduce pollution and the number of cars on the roads is to increase the price of gasoline, which is essential to the function of regular cars. In like manner, less people would use their private cars and more would use public transport to commute to work. Buses are highly more efficient and convenient than private cars as a larger amount of people can ride a bus than those driving a car. Another positive consequence of this measure is that not only private cars, but also lorries will be less used to take products from one city to another, diminishing consequently contamination and traffic on roads and streets. In addition to this measure, the government could provide bicycles to commute to work. For example, in these days, many cities around the world offer this service to get to and from downtown to neighbouring towns, reducing significantly, hence, the amount of cars and pollution. Another primary strategy would be to increase the number of trains and rails as these are a much more convenient means of transport, which produce less fumes, noise and certainly would not make the traffic grow but diminish. In conclusion, increasing the cost of petrol is essential for the improvement of traffic and pollution problems. This, however, is not the only answer to this concern, providing alternative modes of transport for people and goods is significantly important to address every side of the situation.