In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

People's overall weight has risen at a high rate in many countries around the globe, consequently, health and fitness have worsened noticeably. In this essay I will explain two reasons for this issue and what possible actions, I believe, could be applied to tackle this problem. The primary reason for weight gain is that people eat fast food for its accessibility and low cost. Take, for instance, office employees have a short lunch break and prefer spending less money and eating simple hamburgers or sandwiches on the go than sitting to have a fresh and nutritive salad. Regarding exercise, these days, it is harder for people to work out because of lack of time and fitness centres nearby. For example, my lunch break is 25 minutes long and the nearest gym is 2 kilometres away. Solutions for this include, healthier menus offered at schools and job offices in order to provide better options for daily lunches. For example, there could be fresh vegetarian sandwiches with whole wheat or multigrain bread. An approach to improve fitness could be that companies build sport facilities and give employees a place to exercise and the choice to use their break time as they wish, so an employee can use this time to have lunch or exercise. In conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle and poor nutrition are, essentially, the main reasons for the rise in obesity. Nevertheless, some solutions exist to tackle these issues, like companies offering a place to exercise and healthier menus in schools and offices.