Some Children spend a long time each day on their smartphone. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Some juveniles spend a long time each day on their smartphone. This is because video streaming apps are highly entertaining but this can cause negative consequences because it can distract them from their personal and family life. Minors love using mobile devices because streaming services have many entertaining videos on demand. They can easily find their favourite shows on the platform by only typing the keywords in the search section. Moreover, video streaming services like YouTube developed with technology enhancement, will give offspring other shows recommendations related to their preferences. Therefore it will end up with smartphone addiction for the young generation. Despite the enjoyment produced by the apps, this essay believes that addiction has many negative impacts on offspring’s personal lives. They will spend almost all their free hour on the screen which means they will lack physical activities such as playing sports and bike riding. Social engagement will be impacted also due to they seldom meet their friend in person. Furthermore, the most extreme scenario is the relationship between parents and children will break down. If the negative consequences happen, They will have fewer social skills such as communication, empathy, teamwork and many others. They will also struggle to survive in life due to the lack of value they get from family. In conclusion, It has many negative consequences for children who spend a long time on their smartphones. The parents have to restrict the devices usage as much as possible to prevent instant addiction which can influence the future of the children.