Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to traveL or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should Learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this age of globalisation learning a new language apart from the mother tongue is deemed a necessity. Some opine that although it is only required when someone has to move out of their country while others believe that a person should learn irrespective of that. In the following paragraphs we will discuss both the views and conclude with the most suitable notion. Knowing a foreign language is most useful when the person is in that foreign place. Being proficient in it might not be of much use when the person moves out of that place. To exemplify, I had to learn beginner level German before my internship in Germany. I was worried before temporarily moving there about my communication with native Germans but to my surprise for the six months stay there everything I knew was more than enough for me to get by. When I moved back to India, I never got any opportunity to use German ever again. Hence, the use of the foreign language might be limited to that country itself and spending effort and time on getting a good grasp on it might not be fruitful. On the other hand, learning a new language is a great brain booster. Learning a new skill, especially a new language keeps our mind active and improves out cognitive skills. For example, a recent research on students taking a foreign language as compared to students taking no foreign language has shown that the former students were scoring better than the latter ones in almost every subject. This has been proven in multiple studies that learning a tongue definitely improves the remembering, speaking and understanding skills. Therefore, learning a foreign language makes our brain sharper and nurtures our cognitive skills. In conclusion, just familiarising with a foreign language could be enough as it might not come in use after a person has moved back to his own country, but it does improve brain power irrespective of speaking it in day to day life. I personally believe that one must learn at least one foreign language as it does improve our intellect.