Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore , smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Smoking is hazardous to health, as it is said 'smoking kills'. But not only it has adverse effects on the people actively smoking, it affects the passive smokers to a great extent. It is a debatable topic whether cigarette usage should be prohibited in public places. In the essay, I'll share views on whether smoking should be disallowed in open places or not. According to a study of Columbia University, it has been found that 40% of the patients who had lung diseases or breathing problems never smoked. However, they were more in contact with the people who were chain-smokers. It is clearly evident that the mere presence in tobacco flavoured air is slow poison which leads to life threatening ailments. Public places should be protected from being death grounds for well being of mankind. The other view point can be if no smoking in public or open places, is it safe to smoke indoors or privately? Another research by the Illinois University has claimed that most of the house fire accidents that occurred in recent past months were due to indoor smoking. Along with it, if smoking gets banned. It will drastically affect the taxes and revenue scenario for the government, ultimately reflecting on the economy. Whatsoever be the overall scene, I strongly speak in favour of the ban on smoking, not only in the people gathering areas, but also anywhere else. Production of tobacco related products should not be given any license as health is the real wealth.