is protecting the environment governments duty or people?

Many people believe that the protection of the environment is the people`s responsibility, while others think the government is in charge of this kind of activity. I believe both should take care of nature and the environment. People can do a lot to conserve the environment and I think their power to protect it, is more than governments because of limitations in government staff and budget. For instance, individuals can be decreased the demands for plastic as a main source of unrecyclable substance in nature by lessening their usage of plastic products, in other words, they can bring their bag for shopping instead of using a plastic bag. Moreover, individuals can protect mother nature by avoiding littering the environment, especially when they are in nature and where there is no bin and also motivate and educate their children to behave like that. Governments also have a tremendous effect on the environment. They can promote programs that learn their citizens to be more friendly with the environment. Also, they should be allocated and legislated some laws and fines for people, manufactures and industries, polluting the environment or force the industries and companies with pollution to move far off the cities. Also, they must allocate top-notch standards for motoring vehicles as the main source of gas emission and air pollution. Moreover, they can contribute to international treatments such as Paris treatment and make a schedule to decrease their emission or help developing countries to do that. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that preserving and protecting environments is both governments and people`s responsibility and we all should take care of our globe.