The working week should be shorter and workers should should have a longer weekend. do you agree or disagree?

It is contended that weekdays should become shorter and weekends should be longer. While I acknowledge the importance of rest, I do not reckon that it would be feasible to shorten the working week. On the one hand, working a sizable chunk of one’s week can bring about various problems on both familial and individual levels. Firstly, modern society demands individuals to work 5 to 6 days of the week. This can deprive them of spending time with their families and heighten their stress levels. Away from their children, working parents do not get the much-needed time to spend with their beloved children, causing them a sense of guilt and an irreparable gap between children and their parents as they grow up. Secondly, working long hours, 6 days a week, isolates individuals and strips their socialization opportunities away from them. This isolation can have detrimental effects on one’s mental health. Chronic depression, social panic, and anxiety. However, a shorter working week can cause serious problems for both households and society at large. One major reason that necessitates individuals to work longer working weeks is the financial needs of their children. In order to be able to send children to prestigious colleges and universities, as well as provide resources for their demanding needs, fathers and mothers are obliged to work most of their time. Therefore, shortening week days with cut down on individuals ’ wages and prevent them from feeding their children ’s needs. Moreover, industries’ revenue generation is highly dependent on their workforce. While longer weekends might seem appealing to individuals, this decision would endanger the whole society by paralyzing big companies and factories. By cutting working days and adding to the weekend, companies will be forced to reduce their profit margins, as a result of which inflation is introduced to make up for the lost revenues. In conclusion, Although there is an appeal for a longer weekend from a health and children rearing perspective, the overall financial needs of families and industries outweigh the former concern.