Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful in a specific field. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development ?

Many people put an enormous pressure on their offspring to get a college degree and pursue a particular profession. This essay will argue that this behaviour is undesirable and could have deleterious impacts on youngsters, and will discuss the reasons why parents do that. Parents could have many motives for forcing their children to study and succeed in a certain area. Firstly, all mothers and fathers want the best in life for their youngsters. They want them to attend the best universities, obtain a college degree, and be a successful individual in the society. Furthermore, parents wish their sons and daughters to have high-paying jobs in the future and live a comfortable life. They see that unemployment rates are high in their countries and they worry that their offspring will struggle to find jobs in the future. For instance, some parents encourage teenagers to study medicine because they believe that doctors always have a rewarding career and high wages. Nevertheless, pressuring young people to study harder and coercing them to attend certain universities may have adverse effects on their lives. Students would feel stressed and overwhelmed by the demand of their parents. They may develop anxiety, depression, or behavioural problems. This eventually could lead to academic failure and loss of interest in higher education. Moreover, people cannot be successful in their career if they do not have enough desire and passion for it. Many individuals failed to put the efforts in their studies because they lack passion and self-motivation. For example, my cousin forced to study law with his father who was a lawyer himself. He had many difficulties and failed to continue his education because he did not have any interest in law. Ultimately, he decided to pursue a career in technology. Accordingly, parents should support their children to follow their passion rather than forcing them to do what they think is right for them. To conclude, I believe that coercing youngsters to succeed in a field they do not desire is counterproductive as it may have serious consequence in youth’s lives.