Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

Since the introduction of social media applications the world has become a much smaller place. Social media applications such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have turned into an advertising sources for the majority of the global market firms to trade their products. As such, I would agree that marketing on these platforms will influence the consumers in a great way while choosing a product. Firstly, As a user of social media, you are constantly bombarded with advertisements of various products that are specifically designed to catch your attention. This means that most of the adverts on your news feeds aren’t random and will almost always feature something you have previously searched online or something currently popular or trending. Given the fact that most social media users are young consumers who are influenced by current trends and happenings these adverts will almost always catch their eye. Even few adverts are providing discounts to get the attention of the user for their product. Secondly, The habit of sharing, retweeting and liking also ensures that these adverts get around, quite fast. As such, when an advert does reach your news feed you have already probably seen it on your friend’s news feed. For example, If we have to buy a product in a showroom our eye will get attracted to what we are familiar in the past, so we obviously attracted towards the products which we are familiar with the social media in the form of popups. To conclude, The truth is, adverts are a form of information and with the age of the internet, information spreads faster than a wildfire. Therefore, it only makes sense that in the era and age of technology, globalization and the need to be trendy, social media marketing can influence what consumers buy.