Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to older more traditional values such as respect for the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While personal greed and selfishness are foundations of our modern world, some individuals believe that coming back to our great traditions like respecting local society might create creating better community. I do not agree or disagree with the given statement because we should have a strike balance between them. To begin with, there are some drawbacks in a complete selfishness for a human in society. If humans just consider themselves, they would not feel sympathy for other people. In other words, a lack of empathy in a society among citizens might have negative consequences for both the community and the people. For instance, in some communities where citizens would not assist and cooperate with others during some possible difficulties, there might be no sense of patriotism and caring about their countrymen. On the other hand, a normal sense of being selfish in a person is actually necessary for personal growth. When having a normal degree of self-interest, individuals are able to achieve better opportunities in their lives. On the other hand, returning back and being loyal to our great traditions have some benefits. When rebounding their ancient customs and traditions, societies gradually improve cooperation and mutual support among people. To put it differently, citizens with a feeling of being cooperative and supportive of others might be able to create a united country. For example, in case a phenomenon happens in a part of the country, people from other cities would support it. However, in our rapidly changing world, usually, it is not easy to change old rules. If the government are bound to old traditions, it would probably pose some limits when implementing laws. Take new technologies as an example, there are no rules about this in ancient costumes. Hence, it would be more rational to strike a balance between old tradition and selfishness to be respectful of costumes and realize the needs of modern humans. In conclusion, I take the view that in our modern world, we cannot hold our old ideas and be fully selfish people in the community. We ought to have a careful balance between them.