It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, the rapid expansion of supermarkets and wholesale stores has affected negatively local communities' minimarkets and made them hard to find due to the rough competition. this caused many problems for both shop owners and residents of that community. In this essay, I will elaborate more on these problems and suggest some ways to solve them. Most people think about the price tag as a selling point, supermarkets and chine stores frequently provide a better price, especially with online orders that promise next-day delivery. this is because of the high amount requested from the suppliers and the low cost to shelf display online orders items. Local markets on the other hand can only have a small number of certain items in stock to save shelf space subsequently, this led to a shortage of a lot of favoured items in these stores pushing away the customers toward the supermarket as a more reliable source. One solution to this is asking the customers of the local community about their possible future needs, by providing high-demand items in full stock at all times for instance, eggs, milk, bread and canned foods as these items would be used up by the end of the day. Another solution is to ask local residents to invest in minimarkets this will encourage them to have a higher level of loyalty to their local minimarket, this has been implemented in some countries such as Kuwait. In conclusion, the competition of local shops with large supermarkets and their online ordering features and promotional prices made it hard for the mini shops to keep business, however sustainable supply of daily need items in investment in them can potentially provide loyalty to local shops.