It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think?

All the school activities can be holistically classified into two major categorizes, curricular and extra or co-curricular activities. The curricular activities are those which are directly related to child's syllabus such as reading, writing, and appearing for the exam. The co-curricular are those which account for the physical portion such as sports, competitions, school campings, etc. In this modern age of extreme digitalisation children have easy access to smartphones which has eventually led to lower their interests in outdoor sports, in general. Further, adding catalyst to already lowered interest, metrics for physical education are not getting accounted in their mark sheets or year end reports. I believe that giving equal weightage to both studies and physical education would make students take physical education as important as their written syllabus. Also, in addition to making them aware about physical fitness, students will become healthier and proactive. It is like hitting two targets with the same bullet. This will also be a fairer scale of measure as a child, good in sports and not in academics can focus more on sports to balance out his performance in academics, and vice-a-versa. Same goes for, a student good in academics and not in sports. In conclusion, a proportionate syllabus which gives due importance to both studies and physical education is the way forward. This way a student will academically as well as physically sound.