17. Some people think that a persons improve their intellectual skills more when doing a group activity. To what extend do you agree.

As we all know, it is a long journey for a person to become a scholar. Some people believe that team work will boost individual cognitive capacity. However, I agree with them under certain conditions. The essay will discuss my agreement with this view and also list my opinion against it. To begin with, it is a truth that team work will encourage the growth of cognitive intelligence and wisdom as long as all members are willing to cooperate together. If a team consists of all members with attitudes of willing to learn together, it will enhance their individual knowledge growth. There is a Chinese saying, " In a group of people with more than three individuals, there is always a teacher among them." During team work, members will contribute the team in terms of  their various educational backgrounds, personal experiences and individual ideas. People may learn new concepts during team work, which may not be learned from books or limited personal experience. Therefore, people have opportunities to practice their cognitive skills, such as logical thinking skills, expressing skills and summarizing skills, so that they become smarter via team activity. On the contrast, in some certain situations, team work may diminish the opportunities for the members' cognitive improvement. For instance, it is a tough task for team members who work together with opposite views in religions or politics. Therefore, in this condition, team work may create conflict and it is a challenging task for each member to reach the same agreement. This will distort participants' thought rather than helping them to obtain knowledge. In this condition, team work might affect the participants' intelligence growth.  In conclusion, team activity may not always contribute to the growth of team member's cognitive skills. Whether team work will enhance the growth of an individual's intelligence will depend on many aspects of team members, such as personal values, religion and attitude as well. I personally agree that the majority of team work will help the participants to obtain knowledge and become wiser.