Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example, working for a charity / improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people reckon that volunteer work must be made as a mandatory portion for high school learners. This viewpoint finds favour with me as it not only forges social responsibilities among students, but also hones their character to be a well-rounded person in society. This essay will elucidate the advantages of this point. First and foremost, community services impart an awareness of social welfare of pupils. While indulging them into various community activities, they can shape themselves today to make a good society in the future. For example, it is evident that after the SWATCH BHARAT cleaning program, unveiled by the Central Government, teens are aware of not only keeping their surrounding pristine, but also developed a habit of throwing waste into respective garbage bags for the recycling process. Hence, they could feel responsible for keeping their neighbourhood spotless, which is imperative in this modern society. Secondly, by contributing to community services such as teaching education or sports to young children, adolescents could obtain great qualities and skills in their life. Therefore, they can find their personal abilities. To illustrate, in a recent interview which was taken by BBC, an eminent entrepreneur Elon Musk stated that his school volunteer service of differently-abled toddlers stimulated him to invent devices with sophisticated technologies to provide a solution for their inabilities. Thus, it positively affects the characteristics of a person. In conclusion, despite other alternative ways, incorporating community activities into the school curriculum would be beneficial for learners, especially when they become adults. I believe, in the future, education institutes all around the world will be adopting this trend.