In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Across the globe, many individuals own guns for self-defence and recreational purposes. However, this had led to a dramatic increase in the number of household shootings. I strongly believe that a person is at a far greater risk being shot if there is a gun in a household. This essay will elaborate on this view-point a mental position from which things are viewed viewpoint with relevant examples from crime statistics. Firstly, it is quite evident that having a gun in a household endangers children and teenagers. This is because minors do not have the requisite knowledge or maturity to handle guns safely. For example, the US Department of Justice recently revealed statistics showing that 150 American children and teenagers die each year because of accidents relating to household guns. Therefore, it is clear that household guns lead to additional shootings. Secondly, household guns became especially dangerous when spouses have violent arguments. This is because male sexual rage, in particular, often results in deadly aggression. For example, The International Crime Bureau recently produced statistical evidence that – if there is a household gun – a man is twice as likely (if he discovers his wife having an affair) to kill her in a fit of jealous rage. Thus, once again, household guns correlate positively with additional shootings. In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that having a gun in a house leads to further shootings. Given the strength of this evidence, in the future, more legislature needs to be put in place to limit private gun ownership.