What can we learn from the boys' experience about the nature of power and leadership?

We can learn that boys’ approach to power and leadership is very different from girls, that they are more complicated and much more violent than we know of. Firstly, boys are much more complicated as they want to be the top dog and be the one who holds control. This is why we see a lot of disaffection among the boys, especially Jack who eventually rebels and turns into a savage. All of these problems came from who gets the power, either Ralph or Jack. Throughout the book, we see this idea coming back again and again and Jack slowly loses his mind and constantly tries to overthrow Ralph. However, this would succeed as he loses his leadership and the whole island plunges into civil war. Secondly, all of the people on the island want to rule, this is because it’s an isolated area with no grownups, so the one with the most power could do whatever they want and become king in that place. This encourages people to fight and do whatever it takes to become the strongest one out of everyone. For example, Ralph wants to focus on getting rescued, while Jack wants to become a hunter and focus more on sustainability. So these two ideas clash together forming violence and with violence comes a lot of more complicated stuff resulting in the approaches being more violent and much more scary. In conclusion, we can learn that boys are violent and they will do anything to get control and would come to extreme lengths to do so.