Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

In today's world, people have a longer life expectancy than before, especially in western societies. This has been achieved thanks to all the progress that has been made over the years in many sectors, like medicine. The main consequence of this longer life expectation is that the number of older people has considerably grown, but unlike what happened in the past, they can live very active lives. In my view, elderly people represent an important resource for society, especially from a cultural and intellectual point of view. These often are people who lived in difficult times, who experienced some of the great tragedies of the last century like the Second World War and the Holocaust. I believe it's important to listen to them, listen to their stories and finally to learn from them. Like Cicerone said: "Historia Magistra Vitae", history is life's teacher, it should serve as a lesson for the future. We should consider older people who still live today as living history books from whom we can learn how to do better in the future. Consequently, it is also important to take care of them and keep them safe and healthy. In this way, we can preserve this important resource for all of us and make them feel appreciated for what they have done in the past and what they represent today. In conclusion, I think that older people represent one of the pillars of our society for what the can still give to us, so it is our duty to take care of them as much as possible.