Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the reasons people do this? Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing?

It is undeniable that a lot of people try to hide their real age and attempt to look younger. In fact, many people dislike the question about their age and find it embarrassing. Personally, I think this is because aging has been associated with many diseases and illnesses, whereas looking young always reflects beauty and good health. However, this obsession with looking young has many negative effects on individuals and societies. To begin with, the need to defeat aging is not a new trend as people throughout the history were always fascinated by the strength and the charm of young people. For example, many ancient civilizations claimed that they had found the secret of eternal youth. This phenomenon has never changed in the modern era. Inspired by the media and celebrities who always ensure that they never get old people are now more concerned about the aging and ready to do anything to keep their young looks. Thus youngsters’ need to look good is related to the influence of popular culture and media. Unfortunately, this is not a positive thing for several reasons. Firstly, many individuals are being obsessed with their age to such an extent that they splurge on cosmetics products and surgeries. This in turn has devastating impacts on their general health. For instance, studies have shown a strong link between breast cancer and breast enlargement surgery. Secondly, many people, who try to look younger, act like youngsters as well, with all its recklessness and issues, ignoring the wisdom that is supposed to come with aging. Therefore, the attempt to defy aging is harmful to both individuals and communities. To conclude, the obsession with looking young is fuelled by many factors including peer pressure and media influence. Unfortunately, this is a negative trend and hence it should be discouraged. People need to realize that there is no harm in getting old and rather than trying to look younger, they should learn to appreciate the wisdom and maturity that come with aging.