Some people think it more important to spend money on road and motorways than on public transport systems To what extend do you agree?

It's argued that more funds should allocate to the traffic infrastructure rather than public transport systems. Personally, I think both thoroughfare and public transport systems have vital roles to play in modern society, and therefore should be equal. On the other hand, better road quality increases the level of safe and reduces traffic congestion. It's reported that many accidents happen due to lack of adequate road infrastructure. In Southeast Asian countries such as Vietnam and Thailand, there is clear evidence of infrastructure deficit for example the number of road accidents has been ever-increasing because there are a lot of holes on the road's surface. The reason is that the government's spending be used to improve the quality of road systems in order to ensure the people's safety. In addition, wider roads and a larger number of highways can ease congestion in densely populated areas like Ho Chi Minh City or Bangkok, where vehicles are stuck on the road for up to 4 hours in peak. On the other hand, improved buses, trains and underground systems help protect the environment and benefit those who do not own personal vehicles. A bus can carry 20 people at a time, which means there are fewer than 20 vehicles on the street, resulting in carbon emissions reductions. For example, there is information that air quality in Vietnam is only 19% compared to 65% in Singapore, of which public transport is the main mode of transport. Moreover, for those who do not have personal vehicles, especially immigrants in big cities, buses and subways are the solution for their daily trips. This can be seen in Ho Chi Minh City, where hundreds of thousands of immigrants travel by bus daily. In conclusion, I beleve the govenment should expend money on not only road but also public transport systems