The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

As a result of the tourism improvement, English is becoming the most spoken languages in the world and leading to be a global language. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks of having a one globally spoken language. To begin with the positive, a crucial advantage of having a single language around the globe is that travelling to foreign places will be more cost-efficient. This is because, the travellers are no longer required to get assistance from translators to have a smooth journey. In contrast, the additional costs may need to factor in travel expenses if the language barrier exists. Besides being cost-friendly, speaking a single language encourages in technology improvement. As the resources such as books and other useful resources are channeled in a singular form, it helps to mitigate the waiting time for translation. As a result, every learner will receive an equal opportunity to learn swiftly, which leads to a gradual improvement in technology. Nevertheless, having a single language as a communication tool does present the problems as when a language extinct, the culture of that society can be disappeared. Considering the fact that people learn and transmit culture through the word, it is no wonder that language plays a vital role in our society. Another significant disadvantage of this communication tool is the air pollution issue. The reason for this is when travelling becomes easier with no language difficulties; people tend to travel often with the use of high-speed vehicles, aeroplane as an example. Thus, it can create adverse effects on the environment, such as air pollution. In conclusion, although having a single language is beneficial in terms of cost and technology advancement, it is important to consider that they can also harm the culture and are arguably not as environment-friendly as having multi-languages.