Some people think that spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, the method of communication among individuals plays a vital role in understanding ourselves. However, it is often argued by some people that the verbal method of communicating is superior to the use of text. I completely agree that communicating orally helps to convey the information better than writing. Exploring the ease of identifying the speaker's tone while speaking, as well as not having the need for formal education before speaking will prove this. Firstly, speech has more superiority than written words because it easily allows the listener to correctly recognise the mood of the speaker. For example, it is widely known that when one is crying and asked to speak, the listener can easily understand that such person is emotionally disturbed as compared to if the same person was asked to write a written message, which seems difficult to identify the person's mood. Unfortunately, this attribute cannot be accurately sensed by the reader of such written text. Therefore, it becomes apparent that spoken words are more powerful in conveying the information as it is accompanied by the speaker's tonality. Secondly, most users of oral languages consider speaking more powerful than written words because they do not have to learn such skills from school. For instance, a child born into a home of uneducated parents in which their language is Efik, will learn to speak such language at a superior level during his formative years without learning it formally. Because of this, it becomes relatively easier and comfortable to communicate verbally as this is the initial skill learned in contrast to writing, which needs to be studied in school. Thus, this makes it clear that people pick up spoken languages at an early age informally, which becomes their most superior means of exchanging information. In conclusion, it is more powerful to express ourselves by speaking because we can communicate our tones, and there seems to be no need to learn this formally. Accordingly, it is clear that the idea of communicating verbally instead of writing can be vehemently supported. After exploring this subject thoroughly, it is predicted that speaking will continue to be more versatile than written texts, and because of this, people's writing skills will be generally inferior to their speaking skills.