In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

When people are showering money on appearance, they often overlook a thought-provoking fact that they are dedicated to being an appropriate object prepared for others ' looks, which, in my opinion, is a regrettable consequence of modern moral theories. I personally would not regard it as an advancement, but willing to share my thinking about its origin and adverse influences. To fully recognise the disadvantages of the overemphasis on individuals' appearances, it is necessary to explore its causes. The primary one, from my perspective, is that the tendency to abandon teleology, that is, an opinion that humans are inherently with some missions, on the level of philosophy has constantly permeated into daily lives, resulting in a pervasive sense of confusion among ordinary people. A compelling evidence of this feeling is an interview published in Time in 2024, where a South Korean young woman who had spent over 1.5 million dollars on cosmetic surgery conceded that she could clearly feel a massive vacancy in her heart. She had not known how to fill it and decided that at least the illusion that everyone was desiring her could more or less mitigate that feeling. This illustrates the lack of mission has brought contemporaries strong confusion and frustration, the disproportionate focus on appearances merely serving as a substitute. However, the substitute is not useful as, unlike the potent feeling of protecting family or safeguarding motherland, it lacks the ability to awaken individuals' spiritual power. What has taken place is a strong impulse to attract attention, and during the process, individuals gradually shift the centre of their lives from ameliorating themselves to wooing others ' pleasure. In other words, they unconsciously subordinate themselves to others. These kinds of examples are myriad, for illustration, my nephew is a 13-year-old boy who is in the age of aspiring classmates' admiration and exclamation. Thereupon, he sometimes wears a thin jacket which he thinks is "cool" even in winter. Obviously, the image of him in others ' eyes conceived by himself is more important than his health, which is a typical example of yielding the centre of one's own life to others. In summary, in my opinion, the primary cause of cosmetic anxiety is that contemporary people are losing their sense of mission. This leads to widespread confusion and frustration, which in turn stimulates people to seek condolence from others attention. However, this cannot emancipate people from the suffering of vacancy, what can work is to restore missions meriting our determination and efforts.