Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However at best these methods are ineffective, and at worse they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Alternative forms of medicine have been around for 1000s of years. Ancient practices to some might seem ineffective and dangerous, especially with a recent revival of non-regulated medicine. To that extent I agree some forms might be useless or unsafe, but disagree that all kinds of alternative medicine are useless. Some forms of alternative treatments are complementary to allopathy/modern medicine. People suffering from long term digestive issues, insomnia, arthritis and chronic back pain have benefitted from complementary medicine practices like Chiropractor and Acupressure. For example, people with insomnia are given heavy doses of medicine which have long term side effects affecting vital organs of the body. While if acupressure is practiced for sleeping, the benefits are there without any side effects. I had numbness in my face and hand, seen numerous specialist for over 6 years, nothing helped except being medicated. I started seeing a chiropractor and he was able to diagnose and change my life, free from pain without taking any medication. The benefits of finding alternative forms medicine can be fruitful and beneficial. A lot of herbal medication is sold unregulated and can be risky to take without consulting with a doctor. They promise quick fixes and cures with promise of better hair, skin & magic weight loss, most are harmless, but a lot can be dangerous, especially if they are offering cures for the tumours and cancers it’s just snake oil and stopping allopathic medical advice for these remedies is not advised. To summarize, falling prey to recent trends of alternative medicine can be dangerous if not taken cautiously. Some forms are very effective and beneficial if practiced in conjunction with modern medicine and improve your quality of life.