More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Many people indeed migrate to cities for a better lifestyle. However, this trend has several issues such as overcrowding and pollution, which should be addressed by the government by taking appropriate measures. The two biggest threats of the rapid influx of people in cities are over-population and pollution. When increasing people migrate to cities the total number of residents living increases, which leads to the rising cost of living, expensive house prices, inflation in prices of basic commodities, unemployment and poverty. As the human population increases, the city is burdened with pollution, there is more generation of waste and usage of vehicles. For instance, in cities such as London and New York, more and more people migrate for a better life leading to rising unemployment and an average cost of living. The Government could certainly make more efforts to tackle this problem. They could develop adjacent towns and villages to accommodate the growing population and ensure that the benefits of urbanisation are reaped by all citizens. They could also improve public transport as it would encourage people to commute to the cities for work rather than moving into cities. Finally, Authorities could introduce laws, such as in Beijing, wherein people who migrate do have access to free education and health care unlike. As a result, this person chooses to reside in a nearby town and travel to Beijing for work. In conclusion, the Government could play a crucial role in managing the problem of increasing people moving to cities by urbanising towns and improving public transport services.