Nowadays there is an increase in social problems involving young people because more parents spent time at work than with their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, there is a rising number of social issues related to youth. While it could be due to a variety of reasons, there is a view that the root cause is that parents tend to spend more time at work than with their children. This essay will argue why this view is entirely justified and provide relevant evidence for this. To begin with, it is true that younger generations might experience some troubles in outer world due to external aspects such as unhealthy environment, peer influence, mass media, to name but a few. As growing up, young person usually absorbs both positive and negative behaviour and cannot distinguish them appropriately, which, as a consequence, might lead to petty crime or even juvenile delinquency. To illustrate, some young people, being under the influence of their peers, may commit minor offences, which can result in problems with society. Thus, there are more aspects which may cause these problems, other than parental negligence. Conversely, these factors are more likely to impact youth exactly because of the aforementioned parental negligence, since it is parents' responsibility to establish ground rules to their child and teach him to behave. If a parent does not pay enough attention to his child's upbringing, which mostly happens when they spend too much time working, this child is likely to catch up from the surrounding environment that could be quite unhealthy. To illustrate, studies have shown that children from attentive families have committed less crime, than those who were neglected. Therefore, parents should spend more time with their children in order to nurture them. To conclude, it is entirely justified, that the increasing number of social issues involving youth stems from the fact, that parents tend to spend more time at work rather than with their children. With regards to any other reasons, like unhealthy environment and peer influence, it could be diminished by proper upbringing.