In the future, nobody will buy printed books or newspapers because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying? To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the future, there will be nobody purchasing physical books and newspapers because they can read everything on the Internet for free. Although I agree that print newspapers and books will not be in demand in the upcoming years, I disagree with the given reason for it. Clearly, people still need to pay to read books and newspapers in the future. This is because publishing companies require revenue from books and newspaper sales to run the company’s operations. For example, Guardian, US renowned news company, offers a 1$ monthly subscription to access their full premium news content for their readers. The money from their subscribers allows them to pay their employees’ salaries and other operating costs. That is why I believe that this practice will continue in the future otherwise they will go bankrupt. The real reason why some people will stop buying paper books and newspapers is because the digital version presents a cheaper price than the printed one. Buyers could get the lower price because the company could reduce their cost on the production and distribution, making the electronic books price far more economical. Consider the price when buying books on Amazon.com. It is uncommon to see that Kindle book price is half of the paperback one, and this reduced price makes e- books economically attractive options for budget-conscious readers. In conclusion, while I believe nobody will buy print publications in the future, I do not think this is because they will be able to read every piece of digital content freely for the above two reasons mentioned.