Some people believe that we do not need museums any more. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the development of the world wide web has led to the increase of on-line sources of cultural and historical knowledge, which play the same role in education as museums used to in the past. I completely disagree with the given statement and consider that museums are an essential part of the modern society. Firstly, if a person looks at the computer screen instead of attending an exhibition, he will not be able to grasp the ultimate atmosphere of an art gallery. There are numerous websites related to the history of medieval paintings and ancient sculptures, and illustrating them as well, nevertheless people still prefer seeing them live, and that is why such places as the Hermitage and the Louvre will always gain tourists’ attention. Moreover, data and photos of pieces of arts posted on sites are collected from national galleries and not vice versa. It means that they are primarily to the on-line sources and if scientists want to study a certain painting, they will visit the museum where it is stored. For instance, full knowledge about aspects of the body of an Egyptian Pharaoh should be definitely obtained by observing it rather than from reading websites. Thus, the experience of going to an exhibition is incomparable to just surf the Internet trying to obtain necessary information. On the other hand, opponents of the preservation of museums argue that by searching the information in such sources as the Wikipedia, users can save their money by not having to pay for the entrance tickets and are even able to find necessary data much more quickly. Moreover, in this day and age, cutting edge technologies are able to convey all the details of any masterpiece due to high quality pictures taken by sensitive cameras. In addition, those interested in exploring cultural heritage might get access to online art galleries and museums just pressing the button, what makes this virtual tour even more convenient. To sum it up, I am strongly convinced that the significance of museums cannot be overestimated due to their vital meaning to tourism and science.