Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce this?

Today children have been a subject of many pressures of academic to social and commercial challenges which impose constraints on their natural physical growth and freedom. This essay intends to discuss the possible causes and offer some solutions to alleviate the problem. Concerning academic pressure, the competitive age of today makes parents exert mounting pressure on their kids. They have children’s best interest at heart. They want them to outclass other students of their age. To fulfil such ambition, they go to great length. This includes hiring the best tutors in town to provide children with extra work after school and excludes extracurricular activities such as sport and exercise which is necessary for the natural physical and cognitive development of a child. The activities that do not only strengthen their bones and muscles and build up their confidence but also help them do better academically. Besides, teachers also put a greater burden on students by giving extra homework, which is too much for them to handle. All they do is to bring out the best in children, but the reality is they put them in an impossible position. Social and commercial influence also pressurize children. Socially, children want to follow the latest global culture adapted by many people and their fellow peers. However, parents may see this change intrusive and against formerly accepted tradition. Commercially, children are more into a fashion trend and most technologically advanced devices like the latest mobile phone. To tackle the problem, teachers should provide a non-competitive and more collaborative environment for students. The Parent-teacher association has to be held at school every month to instruct parents regarding the importance of the matter. Such PTA meetings are beneficial for parents to have less confrontation with children at home. Children’s expectation regarding commercial and social trend has to keep into perspective in the nonviolent and friendlier atmosphere by their parents. To conclude, it is indispensable to any school board to undertake the physical and mental health of these future citizens and to provide new insight into it.