Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, the debate of whether university students should study any subjects they like or learn subjects relevant to the coming days, for example, science, technology and related disciplines have been prominent. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of both points of view. There are some advantages and disadvantages of enrolling into the disciplines in which students are comfortable. Students are more likely to be successful in their fields if they read what they are passionate about. For example, a student who loves to play the piano have a more propensity of becoming a good musician. On the flip side, the student might not be a good-fit for a technocratic world where science and technology will dominate the world in terms of employment opportunities therefore, chances of food earning. However, each and every student obtaining university degrees in science, technology and similar subjects has its own set of merits and demerits. The world, as we think today, will be full of inventions, discoveries, automation, innovation. In this context, it will be beneficial to students as well as society if there is a large workforce in a plethora of sciences. The collective minds generating a myriad of ideas will definitely advance the well-being of humankind. In addition, it will also provide individuals with better employment opportunities along with adequate financial gain and recognition. Not all students, however, are born to be scientists as not all of them have an analytical and mathematical mind. Some students are born, for instance, to be historians, poets, painters, actors or linguists with creative mind. More importantly, society needs people from as many disciplines as possible for the development of mankind and its civilization. To conclude, after analysing the given issue, I suggest that students should be allowed to study any subjects in their free will as the benefits of this outweigh the counter argument.