Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

People today can expect to live longer and healthier lives, than the people in the past. People often see retirement as a time for relaxation and letting go of the stresses of working life. However, many who reach retirement age are more interested than ever in contributing actively to their communities. This essay will outline two ways in which this interest can benefit the society. One way is, becoming involved in schools in which the experiences of the elderly can be made available to the community. Nowadays, the families are often more mobile than in the past and, as a result, many children do not have regular contact with grandparents. Yet, children are often fascinated by stories of their past. For example, inviting local retired people into schools to speak to children can help them maintain a vital link between past and present, subsequently helping the younger generation to understand the growth of surroundings and culture they have lived in. Another way in which society can benefit from a more active older generation is by inviting older employees to remain in working part-time. Older people may not want to or indeed be able to do a full day's work; however, their experience may continue to be valuable to their employers. Similarly, this can be seen in one scheme in the UK in which elder employees remained in work as mentors for younger employees. In my opinion, therefore, the schools and the workplace are just two of the areas in which those who have reached retirement age can continue to contribute to their communities. As life expectancy improves, the need to maintain an active and socially meaningful life may also increase. Experience suggests that this trend can have benefits for all, not just the elderly.