Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global warming and its growing impact on human beings has made it imperative to work on improving the environment. It is generally believed, that only government and large companies can make a difference to improve the environment. I strongly disagree with this stance and in my opinion, each and every individual can play its role to bring a positive impact on the environment. Government can make a difference in improving the environment by not only devising rules, policies and standards, but by also ensuring the enforcement of the decided policies in the country by penalizing the culprits, who violate these laws. Large companies on the other hand, can play their role by implementing those policies. For example, if the government has imposed a ban on dumping an industrial waste in the sea water. It is duty of large companies to follow the rules and avoid the violation. Contrary to this, an individual can also play an important role in making a huge impact on the environment, by avoiding a plethora of factors that can have a negative effect on the environment. It is pertinent to note that the government policies can never be successful, if we as an individual do not adopt them in our daily lives. Individuals can change their habits and behavioural preferences, such as avoiding the use of plastic products, habit of throwing the litter in the bin, ensuring recycling of re-usable products, avoiding noise pollution, or alike, to make a fruitful and positive impact on the environment. In conclusion, I believe that people who disagreed with the statement have flawed understanding. I disagree that only government and large companies can make a difference on the environment. In my opinion, it is important to realize the every individual has a capacity and capability to produce a positive impact on the environment, provided they are encouraged or enforced to so.