Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money can be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Art and culture are mirrors of a society. It depicts the lifestyle of its people. Although some people believe that the entertainment industry is not needed at all as it is useless as per them, but I feel that artists have a pivotal role to play in the development of any nation. In this essay, I want to put forth my views to support that the expenditure by the government in this sector is completely justifiable. The actors, painters and others from the entertainment industry provide the much required relaxation to the common men in an otherwise tough world. Their plays or films depict what is happening day to day life in a country. They provide various perspectives on the problems of the mankind, which are sometimes thought provoking. Many times, the poets present a satirical view of a situation which is similar to the truth, in such a way as not to offend anyone. The public learns so much from such depiction. Movies based on the biography or mythology or historical events are a common phenomenon today. Examples of such films from the Bollywood are Jodha Akbar, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, Bajirao Mastani, etc. Our culture and tradition are preserved by the entertainers. Kids enjoy going to the circus and watching the tricks performed there. Art connects us to our roots, which we have otherwise forgotten. To conclude, I would like to mention that art is as important as education or healthcare for any civilization to grow. We need to encourage artists, so that the traditions stay alive in any nation.