In recent years many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers to do their shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that the number of customers who are going to go to large shopping centres for their shopping has been increasing over and over these days. Due to the development of customer benefits in large shopping centres, many people would prefer to shop in big shopping centres. However, some people say this issue has negative effects on our association. Visiting large centres for shopping seems positive for people because of the convenience. For example, it is possible to buy anything you planned at once in large shopping centres. They provide plenty of options to customers such as fashion clothes, shoes, accessories sections and even food courts which is called ‘All in One under one roof’. Whereas, the issue has negative effects on our society as well. There are problems with the trend. Firstly, the closed local stores have been increasing gradually because of reduced visitors. According to eminent economists, the more customers feel attracted to shopping under one roof the less customers visit local stores unless they do provide special experiences to customers. Secondly, the financial penalty for local store owners. In a way, the financial penalty is a natural consequence of a decrease in visiting local stores. Therefore, the local economic power and local interactions are getting weaker. According to some statistics, there is a correlation between population congestion in a specific place and economic unbalance. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I personally believe that large shopping centres have positive effects although there are negative things. Because any change has costs and the created market might be producing new jobs.