Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled.They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

With the growing population, the problem of pollution is also increasing at a rapid rate. If nothing will be done soon, our future generations would not be able to live in this environment. It is in our hands only to protect the it. In order to do that, the first thing where people can help is recycling the waste products. A lot of products that we use can be recycled. For example, avoid using single use plastics. Use recyclable boxes. Use steel straws instead of plastic ones. Another example would be to carry your own recyclable bag for grocery shopping, instead of asking a new plastic bag at the grocery store. Not only this step is saving the environment, but also saving the money of people which they were spending on these bags every time. Quite significant contributions can be done at the individual level, but it would be great if the government imposes some legal requirements also. Then people will be more disciplined to save their environment. Government can impose legal requirements. For instance, already the plastic bags have been made chargeable at the grocery stores, which has helped in making people carry their own recyclable bags instead of asking for a new plastic bag every time. This step has greatly helped in limiting the use of plastic bags. More such steps can be taken in the future. For example, imposing fine for houses generating more non recyclable waste per month. It can be measured on the monthly basis, and if it crosses a particular limit, a fine can be imposed. Such restrictions can be imposed, but too much of legal restrictions can make people cranky and it will affect their personal harmony. In conclusion, according to me legal requirements can definitely help. But it should be the person's own responsibility, to take care of the environment. If we ourselves are taking care of it, then no such legal restrictions would be needed.